Paul Reddick

Over the past few years of following Zach’s emails and blogs I would occasionally hear or see the name Paul Reddick.  I had no real idea who he was.  (That sound you just heard was the collective gasp of the greater north-east.  Any gym owner or trainer in the New England area with a blog or a keyboard knows Paul in some capacity it seems.)  I did know Zach respected him and considered him a good friend but I had never pursued Paul myself and was therefore ignorant to just how influential he is.

Turns out Paul’s a pretty cool guy.  His background is in baseball and in addition to running baseball training camps he also runs a highly valued mastermind group.  Most of the big name guys I knew at the conference are a part of that group and owe no small part of their success to Paul’s influence.  A few minutes into his talk, I could see why.

The first thing Paul had us do was to write down three words that described Zach.  I wrote:

Strong

Angry

Leader

He then had us write our own name next to each of those words.  “You cannot recognize a trait in another person unless you possess it yourself,” he said.

And that set the tone for the rest of his talk, much of which was shop talk, the nuts and bolts of marketing and getting your message across.  This newsletter is a direct result of his presentation.  Until now I held back, afraid that it was presumptuous to “drop in to your inbox everyday, unannounced.”  I now see how silly that is and with Paul’s help, selfish.

“Who are you to hide your gifts from the world?  Don’t you know there’s an obesity epidemic?  Don’t you think your skills could help someone who needs them to lose weight, maybe even save their life?  How are they supposed to find you if you don’t market yourself effectively?”

He then went on to show us how.  I know most of you reading this aren’t interested in the nitty gritty of self promotion, you may have already noticed some of his ideas in the changes I’m making.  If you are interested in the details, let me know, I’m happy to share everything I learned.  If you’re getting this via email just reply.  If you’re getting this on the blog, leave a comment.  If you want to get this via email, sign up HERE.

Minus the details of his marketing, what’s left?  Probably the most important message any of us could have heard all weekend:  BE WORTH MARKETING.

“Give your clients what they need…A good teacher meets his students where they are and takes them where they need to go.”

Give more, do more, be more.

“Look at your current reality…Your life is perfectly designed for the results you are getting…You are perfectly disciplined for your current habits.”  In other words, don’t like what your getting?  Do something about it.  What life gives you is directly related to what you put into it.

A wise man once told me, ‘If you always do what you’ve always done.  You’ll always get what you’ve always gotten.”

We become what we do and practice.  Do good, become good.  It’s really that simple.

What about when things don’t go the way we think they should?

We all have friction points.  Those are the places where things just don’t seem to go right, when the action and the plan are not in alignment.  When we look closely we see those friction points occur when our activities don’t line up with our goals or when our highest values and visions are in competition with our lowest values.

I often tell people the “old” Dave was a fat stoner.  I was in love with martial arts, I practised several different styles over the years as teachers and opportunities presented themselves.  I also studied Chinese philosophy and read the writings of various Zen masters.  I understood the words and felt I grasped the principles but just couldn’t make them “work” for me.

Why?  Because the work always took a second seat to getting high and feeling good.  I lacked any sense of direction or focus.  As a result, nothing happened.  When I “put away childish things” my life took traction.  I changed my “lowest values” and removed that hindrance from fulfilling my highest visions.

Strength training helped me channel my energies.  The confidence and sense of self worth that came from meeting the daily challenges of training was real and substantial and proved a much better way to banish the sense of inadequacy and inferiority I tried to chase away with “self medication.”

That confidence brought greater victories both in the gym and out as I was propelled into becoming a better husband, father, man, and now I’m to the point where I realize it’s my duty to share my experience with you.  Paul’s message drove that home.

July 28th and 29th another great teacher, Chip Conrad, will be at Agoge Fitness Systems to share his program Brutal Recess.  This is yet another valuable step in the ongoing journey that is a better you.  Don’t miss this rare opportunity to work and learn with one of the country’s premier trainers.  Click HERE.  No matter what your fitness level there’s something to be learned.  Join us!

If you’re not a subscriber and would like to be.  Click HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Addiction, Fitness, Motivation, Movement, Personal Development, Personal Training, Recovery, Strength, Strength Training

Leave a Reply

