New Book!

I’m pretty excited today.  Yesterday saw the launch of an e-book I started working on back in November of last year.  It’s available through Critical Bench and, if you’re interested, you can download your copy HERE.

Some of you may know that I started my foray into fitness writing a few years ago by doing editing for Elliott Hulse and Mike Westerdal, the authors of the highly successful internet products Lean Hybrid Muscle and Lean Hybrid Muscle-Reloaded.  Initially, I worked on projects for Elliott and his business, before long he introduced me to Mike, for whom I worked on material published on both CriticalBench.com and in Powerlifting USA.

Last October, when I was in St. Petersburg for the first time and actually met Mike and Elliott face to face, Mike approached me about working on a book.

“Have you ever edited a book before?”

“No,”  I said, “but I don’t see why I can’t.”

Once I got back home he forwarded me the manuscript that Shawn Lebrun, a former bodybuilding champion, had written and asked me to look it over.

Instantly I was hooked.  True the book was rough, it needed flow and and rearranging, but it’s content and Shawn’s conviction spoke to me.

I had just finished reading Napoleon Hill’s Think and Grow Rich! and I could see it’s influence on Shawn’s writing.  Shawn had written more than just a diet and weight loss book.  He had cracked the code.

Shawn was offering a direct, practical guide to life transformation.  In his book he reveals the secrets of success that all the great and successful people of history have followed.  The irony of course is that these secrets lay in plain sight, available for all of us.

There are no secrets.  The secret to weight loss?  Eat less, do more.  Every adult with a grade school education knows how to lose weight.

The problem, of course, is that it’s easy to say and hard to do.

This is where Think! And Lose Weight comes in.  Through it’s seven habits of weight loss (plus one bonus habit) and several appendices our book lays out a practical road map to weight loss.

The basics of eating less and doing more are covered, but what’s more important are the hard truths of how to eat less and do more–by taking personal responsibility, establishing priorities, and choosing to go after what you want.  Beyond just telling you what to do, we give you suggestions and practical advice on how to do it.

The beauty of this book and one of the things that attracted me most, is that it’s principal driven.  The principals it pulls from are the principals of success and they apply to any area of your life.  My goal is for people to take this book, use it to lose weight and then use the lessons of their weight loss journey and apply them in countless other areas of their lives.

I am honored to be a part of it.

If you’re struggling with your own weight loss journey, if someone you know and love is struggling, take a look at Think! And Lose Weight: the 7 Habits of Highly Effective Weight Loss.  Critical Bench has it on sale, this week, for $19.95.  Download your copy HERE.

To promote the book, I’ll be on Brian Connone’s radio show, on FTNS Fitness Radio, tomorrow evening, from 8 to 9 pm CST, you can listen in by going to http://ftns.co/.

Also, don’t forget, we’re getting closer to the Bodytribe Fitness workshop.  After Saturday, the special sale pricing ends, sign up now while you can still get in to the 2-day workshop for $199. The workshop is Saturday and Sunday, July 28th and 29th, space is limited, so reserve your spot now.  Click HERE.

To sign up for the newsletter, click HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Fitness, Motivation, Movement, Personal Development, Personal Training, Recovery

Leave a Reply

