“Pimp” Yourself

Last night was definitely an exciting first for me.

Back last March when I finished my work on the manuscript for Think! And Lose Weight I felt a remarkable sense of accomplishment.  I took a rough manuscript and turned it into a polished product that was readable and better suited to deliver it’s message.  I made a sizeable contribution to the book and was proud of my work.

And then I kinda forgot about it.

My publisher, Mike, and I would touch base occasionally about the production phase, which for an e-book is essentially rendering it into a pdf format, adding pictures, setting the typeface and making the whole thing look good.  This is a vital part of adding value to a publication like this.  As I’m sure you’re aware by now, readability on a computer screen is vitally important to conveying your message.

Font size, spacing and the general distribution of text have a huge impact on whether your work actually gets read or not.  Long paragraphs are more difficult to read on most computer screens and breaking up the text into smaller chunks greatly increases the chances that your reader will stay with you through the entire text.

Amazon takes advantage of this in their cloud reader, the PC version of a kindle reader, and uses larger fonts with less text per page to increase readability.  But I digress.

Last night, I was interviewed on FTNS Fitness Radio on a show called The Body Shop, hosted by Brian Cannone, to promote the new book.

How cool is that?

I was introduced as an editor and an author, which as I write these words is both amazing and true.  I AM an editor and an author.  My work has been published on the internet and in print.  That’s pretty damn, cool and maybe I haven’t acknowledged it enough.

“Aw, shucks” is just how I am.  It’s a product of my Southern upbringing and my natural demeanor, so outright bragging is antithetical to my style, but not acknowledging my accomplishments or promoting them serves no one.  After all how will you know I’ve done cool things unless I tell you?

So that’s what I want to share with you today.  Yes, I’m promoting my book and, yes, I encourage you to go listen to my interview, both to learn more about my book and to tell me that Brian’s Connecticut accent does not make my Southern drawl more apparent, but also to show you how my story is your story.

If I don’t promote who I am and what I do, you can’t know about me.  Conversely, if you don’t do the same we can’t know about you.  Everyone has a message to share, and believe it or not, everyone has a potential audience.  There are people out there waiting to hear, needing to hear, your message.  It’s your obligation as a human being to speak that message.

Again, I’m reminded of Paul Reddick at the Underground Strength Conference when he asked, “Who are you to hold your gifts silent?”  If you knew your talents would help someone, maybe even save their life, wouldn’t you help?

Your life impacts others on levels we can’t fully be aware of, hiding your light, holding back your gifts, out of fear or insecurity, is ultimately a form of selfishness.  You don’t want to be selfish, do you?

I certainly don’t.

So I just want to remind you.  My book is on sale this week.  The sale ends Friday.  You can check out a podcast of my interview with Brian Cannone, HERE.  To get more information about the book and to download your copy, go HERE.

Stay strong,

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Fitness, Motivation, Movement, Personal Development, Personal Training, Recovery, Strength, Strength Training

Leave a Reply

